New Talent: Claire Haik

Claire Haik, Dusk, 13 X 17 inches, oil on panel

It is that time again, August, when F.A.N. Gallery shows works by new artists. The August group show mixes up new talent with the gallery’s other artists. One of those new artists is Claire Haik. She is a graduate of Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Art and University of Memphis. Claire Haik’s work focuses on the natural world of the landscape, she says, “dichotomy excites my imagination, and inspires my depictions of nature. My paintings and prints focus on this complexity inherent in the natural world.”

Claire Haik, 2nd Street, 8 X 10 inches, oil on panel

Recently, I asked her where she likes to paint?

I prefer to paint in more isolated areas. The solitude allows me to focus on my creative process and interaction with nature. In Philadelphia, I look for natural and remote places like Fairmount Park and Valley Green, or the Horticulture center. My favorite type of landscape is defiantly the forest; I am drawn to the complexity and inherent wildness found there. I particularly like the forest in the Catskill Mountains, it is one of the most isolated places I go and I have been painting there since I was a child.

Claire Haik,  Red Octoraro,  8 X 10 inches, oil on panel

Claire Haik, Red Octoraro, 8.5 X 12 inches, oil on panel

In the interest of getting to know a little more about Claire I asked her, what was her first creative memory or the first time she connected to something artistic?

Claire Haik,  Dense Green,  8 X 10 inches, oil on panel

Claire Haik, Dense Green, 13 X 16 inches, oil on panel

As far back as I can remember, I loved to collect sticks, rocks, leaves and other natural things and arrange them in patterns. Looking back, I realize that one of my earliest memories took place when I was about six years old, when someone showed me that you could take the small rocks you find in streams and use them to draw on other rocks. I was amazed by the assortment of colors the different rocks produced; some were red, some grey, others orange! I spent hours collecting them trying to find all the different possible hues. I was really excited by the idea that the whole stream was filled with drawing materials.

Come by the gallery and check out Claire’s work.

Group Show: New Talent and Gallery Artists

August 3 –31, 2012

Opening Reception August 3rd, 5 to 9 PM

Leave a comment

Filed under Artists

Leave a Reply

